Monday, 8 April 2013


Nationalisation of Banks in India in Two stages: 

On 19th July 1969, 14 Private Sector Banks Nationalised In first Phase by Late Indira Gandhi, the then Prime Minister of India.
1) Allahabad Bank
2) Bank of Baroda
3) Bank of India
4) Bank of Maharashtra
5) Canara Bank
6) Dena Bank
7) Central Bank of India
8) Indian Bank
9) Indian Overseas Bank
10) Punjab National Bank
11) Syndicate Bank
12) Union Bank of India
13) United Bank of India
14) United Commercial Bank

On 15th April 1980, 6 Private Sector Banks Nation-alised in second phase.
1) Andhra Bank
2) Corporation Bank
3) New Bank of India - Merged With PNB in 1993
4) Oreintal Bank of Commerce - Global Trust Bank Merged with OBC.
5) Punjab and Sind Bank
6) Vijaya Bank

Important Bits:

1. Present RBI Governor is 
D. Subba Rao, I.A.S.
2. RBI Central Office Located at Mumbai.
3. Authority to Issue of Currency Notes into Circulation by 
Reserve Bank
4.Signature on Currency Notes by Governor of RBI.

5. Prouducts of Electronic Banking Innovation are -
A) Internet Banking
B) Electronic Funds Transfer
C) Offshore Banking
D) Mobile Banking
E) Smart Cards

6. Country's Largest Commercial Bank - State Bank of India.
7. NPA - Non-Performing Asset-
A loss to Bank or a bad debt.

8. Stale Cheque - A Cheque becomes Invalid from the date of Issue of 3 Months.

9. Negotiable Instruments are:- As per Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881, Promissory Note, Bill of Exchange and a Cheque.

10. State Bank of India Nationalised on - July 1st, 1955

11.State Bank Previously Know as - Imperial Bank of India.

12. RBI Functioning From: 

13. Repo Rate - The Interest Rate Charged by RBI to Banks on Loans.

14. Reverse Repo Rate: The Interest Rate at which RBI borrows from other Banks.

15. BPLR - Bench Mark Prime Lending Rate Charged by a Bank to borrowers of Funds.